Yellow Fever


General Information:

Yellow Fever is a daytime biting mosquito borne disease transmitted through a specific type of mosquito, aedes species.

Yellow fever occurs in sub-Saharan Africa and tropical South America where it is endemic and intermittently epidemic. It has a short incubation period (3-5 days) and can be lethal. Like with most viral infections, there is no cure and one has to rely on symptomatic treatment.

It is the only disease that is mandatory for vaccination recommended by the WHO.

Areas of Yellow Fever:

Countries with risk of yellow fever transmission Africa

  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic Chad Congo
  • Republic of the Côte d’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • São Tomé
  • Principe Senegal
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia

Central and South America

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia Brazil
  • Colombia Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Venezuela


Yellow Fever vaccination is effective if taken at least 10 days before departure and the protection rate is over 95%.

The best way to prevent mosquito-borne diseases, including yellow fever, is to avoid mosquito bites.

Who should take Yellow Fever Vaccine:

  • People travelling to Yellow Fever endemic countries
  • People travelling from Yellow Fever endemic countries
  • People on transit through Yellow Fever endemic countries

Who should not take Yellow Fever Vaccines:

  • Children under 9 months of age
  • Pregnant Ladies
  • People on Immunosupressive medication
  • Acute current infection with high fever

Copyright of Durban Travel Doctor. All rights reserved. Website designed and maintained by Stiletto Designs.